The Reluctant Blogger


Dark Days Week 7: Meat and three
January 12, 2012, 9:34 am
Filed under: Dairy-free, Dark Days

Apparently Sunday has become unofficial “pan-fried elk steak night” around these parts. I could think of worse Sunday dinners. I know that the typical meat and three plates in the South actually have three sides on the plate, but wine can count as a side, right? This was a fast and fairly basic dinner. Garden peas from the freezer, elk tenderloin, and a couple of delicata squash that have been hanging out in the basement for at least a month and were threatening to go soft, with a favorite summer wine on the side. Nothing particularly exciting, but real, good food, and fast at that. Not really worth rambling on about, and it really shouldn’t have taken me the better part of a week to post this, but sometimes that’s how it goes.

I’ll be late posting next week as I leave for Nicaragua for work (my job does not suck) first thing Saturday morning and doubt I’ll have easy access to the internet while there. You can picture me eating tropical fruit as my week 8 contribution, and I’ll try to post about the trip when I’m back. Week 9 will almost certainly be a soup-from-the-freezer meal, since I get home and head straight back to the office for the week.

Sources:
Elk tenderloin from the freezer
Peas grown by my in-laws up the street from the freezer
Delicata squash from Inaba Farm, Wapato, WA (via Full Circle box)
Flour from Fairhaven Mill, Bellingham, WA
Syncline Rose, Columbia Valley, WA (via Full Pull Wines)
Exceptions: olive oil, salt, pepper

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] pork skewers with sticky rice and stir-fried bok choy and shitakes 1/8 A Dark Days dinner: Pan-fried elk steak 1/9 Meatloaf, mashed potatoes and green bean casserole (don’t judge. Or do. I still use the […]

Pingback by A Year of Dinners: January « The Reluctant Blogger




Leave a Reply

