The Reluctant Blogger


Dark Days Week 4: Christmas Waffles
December 19, 2011, 5:38 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dark Days, Holidays

It’s beginning to appear that I’m mailing it in for Dark Days this year, just repeating all of last year’s meals. This time, waffles (previously seen here), and I didn’t get quite as local as last time. Perhaps next week will be both a bit more creative and entirely local…

A Christmas tradition, and this year they bloomed just in time.

This weekend was my family’s Christmas and everyone gathered at my house. My parents flew in from Montana, and my brother and sister trekked slightly west from their homes in the Seattle area. We’ll all spend actual Christmas with our significant others’ families, so this was a great opportunity for us to spend some time together and share some of our traditions with the newest members of our the family (apparently not everyone gets toothbrushes and clementines in their stockings. Who knew?). Unfortunately I had to work on Saturday, so I took my parents to Seattle with me on the ferry early Saturday morning with a list of some of my favorite places to visit during the Christmas season in Seattle, and strict instructions about what time to be back to catch the ferry home. Sunday was designated to be Christmas, so I didn’t get my preferred day of prep ahead, but I’m trying to learn to let go a little more.

When we got home on Saturday night, I (wisely) mixed up the waffle batter before starting in on my brother’s frozen whiskey sours (jury is still out on that one – I’m not sure I want to admit to liking it, but I’m also not sure I won’t be making them again very soon). Thankfully we’re all old enough that no one is rocketing out of bed insisting on opening packages first thing in the morning, so we were able to ease into the day, and for the first time ever we actually ate breakfast before opening packages.

With fresh squeezed orange juice and Prosecco (a tradition from our grandparents), maple syrup from Vermont, butter that I bought instead of made (I’m learning to cut myself a little more slack), and the coffee that is requisite if my father is going to be pleasant, it wasn’t a perfectly local meal. But it was perfect in its realness, including the messes, and in one more year of keeping traditions alive. I’m so grateful for my family, and for our ability to continue to carry traditions forward even as all of our lives have changed and we’ve grown older. Merry Christmas!

Someone was *very* excited to be included in package opening.

Sources for this week’s meal:
Whole milk from Fresh Breeze Dairy, Lynden, WA
Fairhaven Mill flour, Bellingham, WA
Honey from Sailing S Orchards and Apiary, Sequim, WA
Eggs from Mountain View Farm, Belfair, WA (purchased at the awesomely named Dragoun’s Lair)
Raspberry thyme jam from berries my in-laws grew
Huckleberry syrup from berries picked in the forest near our house
Breakfast sausage from Heritage Meats, Rochester, WA
Exceptions: organic butter from Costco (sad face), yeast, baking soda, salt, sugar in jams, maple syrup, coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice and Prosecco (family traditions and all that)

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Reluctant Blogger mixed up some holiday waffles, sampled assorted local ciders, and even “dug up” some oysters from a local seafood […]

Pingback by Dark Days Challenge recap: Week 6 WEST group « Not Dabbling In Normal




Leave a Reply

