The Reluctant Blogger


Dark Days Week 15: Raspberry Streusel Muffins
March 15, 2011, 3:19 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dark Days

A weekend houseguest meant my usual weekend morning routine (drink [too much] tea all morning and then eat something – often odd – around the lunch hour) was happily pushed off course for a day. After a big dinner the night before, I didn’t think we’d be hungry for a substantial breakfast; but coffee and muffins seemed like it would be just enough.

I really like Ruth Reichl’s blueberry muffins and I think they’re just as good with raspberries. I added some pecans as well, squirreled away in the freezer from a trip to visit family in Alabama last year. Three of us managed to eat all 11 of the muffins. Evidence of their deliciousness, or of the fact that not everyone eats as oddly as I do? I’m going with delicious.

Sources for this week’s meal:
Raspberries from my in-laws’ garden, by way of my freezer
Pecans from B&B Pecan Co., Fairhope, AL (picked up on a visit to family in Alabama)
Homemade butter from Fresh Breeze Dairy heavy cream
Milk from Fresh Breeze Dairy
Eggs from Mountain View Farm
Flour from Montana as in the past (slowly making progress but 50 lbs is a lot of flour for two people!)
Exceptions:
sugar, baking powder, coffee

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

