The Reluctant Blogger


Dark Days Week 13: Delicata and Cannellini Soup
March 13, 2011, 2:19 pm
Filed under: Dark Days, Soup, Vegetarian, Wheat-free

Forgot to take a picture before we sat down to eat, and the crappy iPhone photo I took while eating really doesn’t help, though there’s probably pretty much no way to make this one look appetizing. You’ll have to trust that it was much tastier than it looks. The last few delicata squash in the basement were threatening to get soft and I knew I was in a use-it-or-lose-it position. The best way to use five small squash all at once? Squash soup, heavy emphasis on the squash.

I didn’t follow a recipe on this one, since I knew I needed to use all of the squash I had, and would need adapt the rest of the ingredients around that. I started by peeling and cubing the squash. I roasted one squash worth of cubes and set them aside. The rest of the squash was lightly browned in some olive oil along with a roughly chopped onion and a few sage leaves. Once the squash was lightly browned, I added about an inch of water to the pan – enough to cover the bottom of the pan and not evaporate right away, but not so much that the squash was fully covered – then put a lid on the pan and turned the heat all the way down. I let that simmer for about 20 minutes, then pureed the mixture in the blender with a couple tablespoons of heavy cream (also in a use-it-or-lose-it situation) and some nutmeg. Once it was pureed, I returned it to the pan, stirred in the roasted squash and cooked cannellini beans (left over from another meal, and similarly in need of being used), seasoned it, then heated it through before serving. Not bad for a dinner born of necessity.

Sources for this week’s dinner:
Delicata squash and garlic grown by my in-laws up the street, by way of my basement
Onions from Andersen Organics, Othello, WA, by way of Full Circle box
Sage from my backyard herb box
Cream from Fresh Breeze Organic Dairy, Lynden, WA
Cannellini beans from Rancho Gordo, which I’m only counting because everything else was local and I carried the beans home with me from my last trip to California
Exceptions: olive oil, salt, pepper, nutmeg

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well at least it sounds great. My poor wife is always having to wait to eat while I snap a picture or two or…

Comment by Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide

I love that you’re counting the Cannellini beans! I often bring home local fare from vacations and business trips it counts as local because it was local when I got it!

Comment by Sophie




Leave a Reply

