The Reluctant Blogger


Dark Days Week 8: Huevos Rancheros
January 30, 2011, 6:27 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Dairy-free, Dark Days, Vegetarian

Last week, I booked a last minute trip to San Francisco. I took a nearly-empty suitcase with me, knowing I’d have a hard time resisting avocados and lemons from my aunt’s tree and the many edible temptations from the Ferry Plaza farmers’ market. While my primary reason for making the trip was to spend some time with my best friend and my aunt and uncle, I knew it would be nice to have a couple of days in a place where more things are growing than are available in Washington right now. As an added bonus, it was absolutely gorgeous while I was there –  as in high-60s-and-completely-clear-skies gorgeous. And as it turned out, it was good I had plenty of space in my bag.This past summer, I talked my in-laws into planting some black beans since they have so much growing space and are usually up for an experiment. Unfortunately, the yield wasn’t particularly high, so this dinner was the entire crop. Since last year was a hard growing year, I’m willing to give beans another try but I’m thinking I may stick to buying beans from Rancho Gordo (and seeing as I came home from San Francisco with ten pounds of Rancho Gordo beans, we’re probably set for beans for some time).

Somehow in the span of a three-day trip, I managed to eat huevos rancheros twice and came home wanting more. So, this weekend I pulled out the precious jar of the black beans my in-laws grew, put them on to simmer, and started thinking about how to make this a Dark Days-friendly meal. I knew corn tortillas were out, as I don’t have a source for locally-made masa yet, but homemade flour tortillas would work. Using pickled red onions in place of ranchero sauce meant this wouldn’t be a traditional take, but I had some leftover from another dinner and wanted to use them up. Topped off with an avocado that somehow found its’ way into my suitcase, this was absolutely delicious, and a meal that is likely to make a repeat appearance.

Sources for this week’s dinner:
Black beans – grown by my in-laws, just up the street
Oregano – picked from my herb box
Eggs – Mountain View Farm, Belfair, WA
Avocado – hand-picked from my aunt’s tree in Santa Clara, CA and carried home in my suitcase (I swear, I wasn’t visiting for the avocados!)
Red onion – Andersen Organics, Othello, WA
Homemade tortillas (flour from MT as in previous posts and water)
Exceptions: Vinegar for pickling the onion, salt

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] for table use, but maybe not worth it for baking projects. Not only did I learn I actually like eggs, I also realized local eggs really do taste better than grocery store eggs, and despite a […]

Pingback by Dark Days Week 20: Final Week « The Reluctant Blogger

[…] to know I have a reasonable option if I can’t get my preferred farm eggs and need eggs for one reason or another. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

Pingback by Dark Days Week 6: Tortellini « The Reluctant Blogger




Leave a Reply

