The Reluctant Blogger


Portuguese Kale and Potato Soup, Gourmet, November 2009
October 31, 2010, 7:55 pm
Filed under: Dairy-free, Gourmet, Unbound, Soup, Wheat-free

It’s nearly November and due to unexpected changes at work, I’ve spent far more time working than I could have imagined when the year started. While I’m still making dinner when I’m actually home, dinner is driven by speed at which it can be prepared and what is in my CSA box for the week.  We’ve been eating a lot of salads, squash, and pasta with roasted vegetables, weekly racing against the clock to get through another box of vegetables.  My cookbook project is way off track (the last time I “saved” a cookbook was July 4th.  JULY 4th!) and I know there is no way I’m going to finish before the end of the year.  I’ve managed to get a post up once a month for the Gourmet, Unbound project, but I think the group aspect of the project has ended.  Without some kind of deadline, self-imposed or otherwise, I know I’d probably just stop blogging since I’m barely hanging in there anyway, so I’m going to keep doing a Gourmet recipe a month if for no other reason than it forces me to take my camera into the kitchen once in a while.

Which brings me to this recipe: Gourmet‘s take on Caldo Verde.  I bookmarked this recipe last year, on one of my many reads through the final issue of Gourmet.  Quick, relatively healthy, uses a lot of vegetables, and I already had everything on hand – this fits our life and dinner style of late perfectly.  My most recent CSA box contained two bunches of kale; we just dug the last of the potatoes from our garden and I had half a package of chorizo in the freezer.  Add in some shallots (all of the onions are gone already) and garlic from my in-laws’ garden and I was set to go.  For a simple and quick soup, this was a keeper.  The next time I find myself with a lot of kale and not enough time, this soup is likely to make another appearance.

Portuguese Kale and Potato Soup
Adapted from Gourmet, November 2009

1 Tbsp olive oil
4 links Spanish chorizo, sliced into 1/2 inch rounds
3 yellow shallots, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 lbs fingerling potatoes, sliced into 1/2 inch rounds
2 large bunches Lacinato kale, stems and center ribs removed, then sliced thinly
4-6 cups water
salt and pepper to taste

Heat olive oil in a large heavy pot over medium heat.  Add sausage and brown, stirring often.  Cook for 5 minutes, then reduce heat and remove sausage to a plate.  Add onion and garlic to pot and cook, stirring often, until lightly browned.  Add potatoes and stir well.  Cover potatoes with water and simmer, covered, until potatoes are cooked through, about 20 minutes.  Stir in kale and cook for three minutes, then stir in sausage and cook just until heated through.  Season to taste and serve.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I made this last night- it was also on my list to make for awhile- my mom made a similar soup growing up also adding kidney beans. I liked your take of using shallots instead of onions. I used baby yukon golds since thats what I had and chicken broth instead of the water to give more flavor. I thought the soup was great and am going to freeze some for future meals!

Comment by Lorraine




Leave a Reply

