The Reluctant Blogger


Beef Chow Mein, Gourmet, September 2005
August 31, 2010, 8:00 pm
Filed under: Dairy-free, Gourmet, Unbound

When I started working in downtown Seattle about two years ago, I promised myself that since my commute was going to be long, I was going to make the most of being in the city and get out of the office every day for at least a few minutes.  While that was a nice thought, reality intervened and there are days I don’t leave the building.  However, when I have the chance, I make a point to get out and walk.  If I’m not meeting a friend for lunch, my walks tend to take me either north to Pike Place Market or south to the International District.  More times than not, my walks south end up at Uwajimaya, the Asian supermarket aka so-much-better-than-a-candy-store.

In looking through the August Gourmet recipes, Beef Chow Mein caught my eye.  My husband has been a good sport about my love for tofu and leafy green vegetables, even though he’d always choose beef and potatoes first.  If he had to pick some kind of Asian food for dinner, I’m pretty sure he’d pick Chinese takeout first.  Though my wok makes a fairly regular appearance – if not for tofu stir fry, often for Thai noodles – I don’t make a lot of Chinese takeout-style dinners.  And given that we live 40 minutes from the nearest decent Chinese restaurant, Chinese takeout doesn’t show up at our house on any kind of regular basis.

A lunchtime walk to Uwajimaya yielded everything I needed (and some good lunch snacks as well).  Since I pretty much followed the recipe to the letter (though confusion over which green, exactly, was choy sum lead to my getting two different greens and including both), I’ll send you to Epicurious for the recipe.  This project has been good for me – both encouraging me to actually follow directions once in a while (who knew?) and forcing me to post at least once a month.  Perhaps once the cool weather rolls back around I’ll spend more time posting.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

