The Reluctant Blogger


Kumquats, cucumber, and gin (or: Cleaning out the produce drawer)
April 29, 2010, 7:48 pm
Filed under: Drinks

I try pretty hard to buy food in season and avoid produce that has travelled halfway around the world. However, I have weaknesses (see, primarily: avocados, green papayas, citrus fruits).  Kumquats are one of those weaknesses.  I am hooked.

A month or so ago (it pains me to think it has really been that long), I bought some kumquats and snacked on them for a week or so before the last handful got buried in their paper bag in the back of my produce drawer.  Tonight, I unearthed those kumquats and half of a cucumber (again, not exactly in season or local) that was fast headed downhill and it just happened to be cocktail hour.  I muddled the kumquats and cucumber, added some ice and gin, shook for a minute, and dumped it all in a glass with some club soda.  I didn’t have high expectations for this combination, so I was pleasantly surprised to find it made for a very good drink.  Not on the same level as the Cranberry Gin & Tonic I made at Thanksgiving, but pretty good nonetheless.  If there’s a next time for this drink (which there probably will be, though likely not until next winter), I might add some mint (though if it’s winter, I probably wouldn’t have mint around), or try the drink with vodka or rum.

Kumquats, Cucumber & Gin
(makes 1 drink)

Small handful of kumquats (I had about 1/2 cup)
1/2 English cucumber, peeled and roughly chopped
Gin to taste (I used two shots)
Ice
Club soda

Muddle the kumquats, cucumber, and gin.  Add ice and shake for a minute.  Dump into a glass, add club soda, and drink.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

