The Reluctant Blogger


Cracked Wheat Rolls, Gourmet, February 2009
January 31, 2010, 7:07 pm
Filed under: Bread, Gourmet, Unbound

Yeast rolls and I have a bit of challenging relationship.  Sometimes – usually when I throw together my basic yeast/water/ sugar/flour/oil from memory recipe in just a few minutes – my yeast rolls turn out pretty good, entirely serviceable as the hamburger buns or sandwich rolls they’re intended to be.  Unfortunately, when I try a new recipe or actually plan ahead (see: holiday dinners, dinners with guests, etc.) I’m often disappointed by the outcome.  I’m still not entirely sure what goes wrong. Aiming for tender, pillowy dinner rolls, I’m frustrated when I get a perfectly fine tasting, but dry and crumbly textured roll.  Most recently this was the case with both my Thanksgiving rolls (which I’m convinced I will eventually master because they taste so good) as well as my Christmas rolls (Parker House rolls from one of the America’s Test Kitchen cookbooks).

For February’s Gourmet, Unbound recipe, I thought it might be good to attempt another yeast roll, since I’d pulled out a bunch of roll recipes from the February 2009 magazine (those parmesan pull aparts were among that batch of recipes).  I had some bulgur left over from another dinner and the Cracked Wheat Topknots caught my eye.  I followed the recipe to the ‘t’ (a rarity for me!) except for turning them into topknots, since we were planning to grill bratwurst that night and I needed rolls for the bratwurst and onions.  I won’t claim this attempt at yeast rolls as an unqualified success – I thought they could have risen more on the second rise (though perhaps our chilly house was to blame for that), but otherwise I was really happy with the way these turned out.  I’ll probably even make them again!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I do love making bread. I’ve had mixed success with rising dough, but it’s been something I know I just need to practice with. My “proofing box” is under the upstairs bathroom sink, because the heater vent is right below the cupboard, and it really hangs onto the warmth. Also a good spot to ferment mead!

Comment by wasabi prime




Leave a Reply

