The Reluctant Blogger


Cranberry Gin & Tonics, Gourmet, Dec. 2006
December 1, 2009, 12:26 am
Filed under: Drinks, Gourmet, Unbound

I had a list of all of the December Gourmet recipes I wanted to make and then life (well, mostly work) intervened and all of a sudden it was the last weekend of the month and I hadn’t picked something.  And it was the weekend after Thanskgiving, so my fridge was full of leftovers and I’d promised myself I wouldn’t buy any more groceries until we made a serious dent in the contents of the fridge.

Luckily, someone on Twitter (love it, but that’s a topic for another post) mentioned cranberry gin & tonics and I had half a bag of cranberries in my fridge.  After a few minutes of searching, I found the recipe at gourmet.com.  And wouldn’t you know it, it was a December recipe!

I’m a gin and tonic kind of girl, although truth be told I probably drink more wine than hard alcohol these days.  We’re fortunate to have a really good source of Washington gin in Spokane-based Dry Fly.  Sadly no one is making tonic around here yet as far as I know, and I’ve not been able to get some of the better brands of tonic (like Q or Fever Tree), so it’s Schweppes (and HFCS) when I do decide to have a gin and tonic at home.  I wasn’t about to let that stop me, since I had everything I needed on hand (including key limes.  Guess I’m not doing so well with that whole local thing.  We’re trying, but definitely aren’t hitting 100%).  I cut the original recipe down from two bags of cranberries to a half a bag since that was what I had on hand.

I think I cooked the cranberry/sugar/water combo a little too long, because by the time I went to strain it, it was more gel than syrup, but that didn’t stop it from being delicious – I just had to do a little more stirring.

After making this over the weekend, I’m wishing I had more cranberries so I could make more tonight.  But, in a week hopefully we’ll have eaten through enough of the contents of the fridge that I can justify getting more groceries.  Cranberries will definitely be at the top of the list!

Cranberry Gin & Tonics
Gourmet, December 2006

  • 2 (12-oz) bags fresh cranberries
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3 1/3 cups chilled tonic water
  • 1 1/4 cups gin
  • 3 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon fresh lime juice

Bring cranberries, sugar, and water to a simmer in a 3- to 3 1/2-quart saucepan, then simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, until berries just begin to pop, about 2 minutes. Drain cranberries in a fine-mesh sieve set over a 1-quart glass measuring cup, then reserve 2 cups cranberries and force remaining cranberries through sieve into syrup. Discard solids remaining in sieve, then add reserved cranberries to syrup. Cool to room temperature. Transfer to a pitcher and chill until cold, about 2 hours.

This was a great accompaniment to my evening of reading. My husband was just glad that by the end of the evening the coffee table was starting to reappear.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I made a similar cocktail (only with vodka) with my leftover cranberries. This one looks quenching as well. Cheers!

Comment by Joy Manning

Oh man, I’ve got a bottle of Hendricks, some cranberries and tonic in the fridge, I think this is a must!

Comment by Naomi

Yum! I’ll have one of those 🙂 Great drink for the holidays.

Comment by Jen @ My Kitchen Addiction

Not really a Gin and Tonic person, but I do know several folks who are. I may have to make this for them.

Comment by Mrs. L

hmmmmm gonna melt some leftover cranberry jelly and give this a try

Comment by motto14620




Leave a Reply

