The Reluctant Blogger


Sauteed Fresh Chanterelles, Gourmet, Nov. 1997
November 1, 2009, 8:05 pm
Filed under: Gourmet, Unbound, Vegetarian

sauteed chanterelles

In the weeks since Conde Nast announced the closure of Gourmet, a number of great tributes have sprung up.  One of these is Gourmet, Unbound, which was the impetus for me to start blogging.  Through this project, people will cook a recipe from the same month, from any of the 68 years of the magazine.  I’m really excited to participate in this because it encouraged me to take stock of all of the Gourmet recipes I’ve ripped out over the years (I’m now sad I didn’t hang on to the magazines, but such is life).  Being the nerd that I am, I compiled my list of recipes in a spreadsheet and started contemplating which of the November recipes I’d choose.

When my husband came in from deer hunting a few days ago with a big bag of golden chanterelle mushrooms, I knew I’d be making this recipe and using it as my first Gourmet, Unbound submission, even though it’s incredibly easy (further evidence against those who have said Gourmet was out of reach or too complicated).  This is one I’ve made many times over the past few years and I’ve tweaked it a little by adding some chopped garlic, leaving out the lemon juice (which I find overpowers the flavor of the mushrooms) and using my trusty cast-iron skillet (inherited from my grandma, who got it from her mom) instead of a non-stick pan.  This time I served the mushrooms with a roast chicken, but it also makes a great pasta topping or a wonderful base for a poached egg and some toast.

Sauteed Fresh Chanterelles
Slightly adapted from Gourmet, November 1997

  • 1 1/4 pounds fresh chanterelles
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 3 tablespoons coarsely chopped fresh flat-leafed parsley leaves
  • 1 – 2 finely minced garlic cloves

Rip chanterelles lengthwise. In a large skillet melt butter with oil over moderately high heat until foam subsides and sauté mushrooms and garlic, stirring, with salt and pepper to taste until barely tender, about 2 minutes. Add wine and cook, stirring, until liquid is evaporated and mushrooms are tender, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in parsley, then serve immediately.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh fabulosity. I could eat just this and be a happy camper. Beautiful dish and so wonderfully simple, letting the ingredients speak for themselves!

Comment by wasabi prime

Wish I’d seen this back when you first posted! I had a large supply of chanterelles before Thanksgiving. I did use them in a stuffing which was terrific too!

Comment by Wendy




Leave a Reply

