The Reluctant Blogger


A Year of Dinners: January
February 20, 2012, 8:37 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m not one for New Year’s resolutions, but I do like the idea of starting a new (small) project with each new year. I haven’t finished all of them (see The Cookbook Project), but a month and a half into the year, I’m doing pretty well with this year’s project: taking quick snapshots of dinner every night. I thought it would be fun to share a quick run down of a month of dinners, both keeping it real (we eat well, but from my usual posts here, you’d think we never ate crackers for dinner, or had disastrous dinners), and as a way to share some of the ideas that never make it to full blog posts.

I started keeping a dinner log the day we got married, thinking I’d keep track of dinners for a few months before petering out, but nearly four years in, I’m still doing it, and it’s become a great way to track our lives without journaling (I tried journaling when I was about 13, but ended up burning it in one of my mom’s stainless steel bowls. I’m nothing if not dramatic), and taking photos has been a great way to help me catch up when I fail to write every day.

Without further ado, here’s January’s dinner list, in case you’re looking for some ideas:

1/1 Pan-fried elk steaks, roasted carrots and parsnips, mashed potatoes, NW Vine Project Pinot Noir
1/2 Black beans with carnitas and hatch peppers, pickled red onion, cotija, and avocado
1/3 Romaine salad with blue cheese dressing, prosciutto crumbles, and pecans
1/4 Soup with broth from the freezer (made from Peking-style roasted duck carcass), bok choy, baby corn, shitakes, and ramen
1/5 Horrible tomato soup from the freezer (it was good the first time – not sure what the freezer did to it) and grilled cheese
1/6 Spaghetti and meatballs and homemade cibatta, Dusted Valley Stained Tooth Syrah
1/7 Thai-style grilled pork skewers with sticky rice and stir-fried bok choy and shitakes
1/8 A Dark Days dinner: Pan-fried elk steak
1/9 Meatloaf, mashed potatoes and green bean casserole (don’t judge. Or do. I still use the French’s fried onions, but the rest is made from scratch. I love green bean casserole.)
1/10 Shepherd’s pie, a leftovers special from the freezer (leftover elk stew, roasted parsnips and mashed potatoes) with kale salad on the side
1/11 Squash, white bean, sausage and arugula soup
1/12 Chicken tostadas with avocado, cilantro, olives, pickled red onions, salsa verde and sour cream (I’m guessing this will make a fairly frequent appearance – it’s Ryan’s favorite dinner, bar none)
1/13 Marcella Hazan tomato onion sauce, Italian sausage, and arugula on angel hair pasta, with toasted cibatta to soak up every last drop of the sauce, and Gramercy Pinot Noir
1/14-21 Nicaragua; Ryan made dinner the night I got home, but I failed to get a picture. Pasta with roasted tomatoes from the freezer and Stevens Winery syrah.
1/22 Spicy chicken lime soup with avocados
1/23 Pad thai with chicken
1/24 Shrimp and toast
1/25 Borscht from the freezer
1/26 Stir-fried bok choy and mushrooms with ground pork
1/27 Minestrone and cibatta, both from the freezer
1/28 Green chile elk cheeseburgers
1/29 General Tso’s chicken (our favorite/only takeout place closed last fall, so I had to figure out how to make this at home. The linked recipe is a keeper.)
1/30 Roasted chicken, kale salad, mashed celery root and potatoes, Milbrandt Malbec
1/31 Home late after a going away party for a colleague; Ritz crackers for dinner

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Very cool project, Katie! The photos are great: a pithy snapshot of life in January.

Comment by Paul Zitarelli




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

