The Reluctant Blogger


Week 11: Salumi, cornichons, and cheese
February 12, 2012, 11:23 am
Filed under: Dark Days, Wheat-free

The title pretty much says it all. Rosmarino from Salumi, Beecher’s cheese curds, and homemade cornichons. Some weeks are hectic enough that blogging is low on my priority list if it makes it at all, and this was definitely one of them. One photo and a couple of sentences about lunch took more than a week to post. So it goes.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Homemade cornichons, huh? What recipe? Where’d you get the tiny cucumbers?

Have you had the mole salami from Salumi? It is DELICIOUS.

Comment by Lauren

My in-laws grow cucumbers and let me pick them very small. Picking every weekend for the duration of the season usually yields enough for six pints, give or take a bit. I tried growing the French cukes that are intended for cornichons a couple years ago without a lot of luck, but I’m going to try again this year now that I have more planting space to play with…stay tuned.

I use Linda Zedrich’s recipe but it’s not canned, which puts some people off. I’ve used it for a few years with no problems, but to be safe I only share with hardy friends :)

I haven’t had a Salumi salami I haven’t loved! The mole is great, but my favorites are the rosmarino and finnochiona.

Comment by Katie




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

